• Welcome!

    The official blog of Management Search Incorporated, where business experiences are shared and new perspectives are gained.
  • Follow us on Twitter!

  • Follow me on Twitter

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Be You.

Do-What-You-Love

Don’t underestimate the power of the interview! With only four-weeks of intern experience at MSI (Management Search Inc.), I think I’ve learned this key golden rule. No matter the extent of the resume or background experience, the interview cannot be minimized. In my short time, I’ve seen the importance of the interview and the process, from formulating interview questions to conducting my own, I have seen it all. My initial perspective on the topic of the hiring and getting hired seemed daunting to me, today it simply feels like second nature. I had the misconception that it was only a few straight-forward and mostly conversation driven questions that got you the job; I was wrong. There’s more to simple conversation and asking straightforward questions, conducting interviews is about creating relationships and rapport.

As a result of the experience I have acquired the ability to view and comprehend specific details at a more substantial level. Furthermore, I definitely feel more comfortable and confident in my newfound interviewing abilities, often catching myself conducting interviews with ease. Some advice for those who were conducting an interview; it is key to remain observant and critical of nonverbal communication, which really demonstrates confidence. The small expressions and postures that I exhibit while talking and listening says a lot, without actually uttering a word. The old adage that “Actions speak louder than words” seems to have manifested in my life today, simply by how I decipher nonverbal cues.

In summary, the most important things about being the interviewee would be to be yourself! As I previously stated from my experiences conducting interviews, the most confident and charismatic people were the ones who seemed the most genuine. These individuals entered the room and portrayed themselves as themselves. I challenge everyone to take things up front and be confident in your abilities. When presenting yourself, never forget the “little things” this could be the difference between getting your dream job or not. In addition, by believing in yourself and your abilities, you many never know what path may open up for you!

If you’re interested, here’s a link that will help broaden your perspective with “11 Things You Should Do In The 15 Minutes Before A Job Interview,” by Jacquelyn Smith writing in the Business Insider.

< http://www.businessinsider.com/what-to-do-in-the-15-minutes-before-job-interview-2014-3 >

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a comment